Day 8 - Conflict of interest!!

Day 8 - Conflict of interest!!

Today was the 25th of January 2024, and after completing 80% of the application, I think there are better options in feeds if the user is authenticated. Right now, I can see a generalized feed of the user because I am just taking the username and providing general feeds in the API. However, if the user is authenticated, I do have options for showing personalized, following, and featured blog posts. I think that provides a much better experience in this Chrome extension, rather than offering generalized feeds.

It took me a long time to think about how to implement authentication in this Chrome extension, and I tried a few approaches, but unfortunately, I was not able to succeed.

The only thing I know right now is that this is a challenge I have to tackle because I want to give my users an optimal experience of Hashnode in this extension.

I ended my day with thoughts on how I would authenticate the user. I tried multiple approaches with Apollo GraphQL hooks. Still, I was not able to find the proper way to authenticate the user throughout the entire application, including the sign-in and sign-out flow.

I am hoping to complete it by tomorrow.

Lets Go Bender GIF - Lets Go Bender Futurama GIFs